Back Stage With Barack Obama

By John Orofino

On Oct. 28, I was given the opportunity to witness a side of Barack Obama that few people have ever had the privilege of experiencing by Julie Carey, a political reporter for NBC. I watched in utter amazement as the possible next president of the United States paced back and forth down a dimly lit corridor, preparing to address a raucous crowd of 10,000 supporters on the campus of James Madison University in Harrisonburg Va.

I asked my supervisor in the consumer unit at NBC4 if it would be possible to tag along with Julie to cover the Obama rally.  My supervisor, Erin Van der Bellen, arranged for me to meet up with Julie at the Vienna Metro Station and drive out to the rally from there.

The emotion I felt in the moments spent in that dark corridor with Obama was very invigorating. I got to see Obama in a – Read the rest on NBCWashington.com

