What’s Taking So Long?

photo credit : Ryan Perez

photo credit : Ryan Perez

I was so happy to go to the demonstration at the Supreme Court during the DOMA arguments Wednesday, March 27th and help my fellow countrymen, no, my fellow human beings fight for their right of equality. This experience was life-changing, I have never in my life experienced so many people together for one cause, and the moment was breathtaking. As I was standing in a crowd of hundreds, all of whom were focused on their cause and voicing their opinions all at once with such force it was similar to the Greek shipmates in The Odyssey untying Odysseus’ bag of winds.
The fact that it has taken this long for the federal government to recognize gay marriage is disgusting to me. After all the years of the United States persecuting a specific group of people you would think that the country would get the picture, guess not. I guess the Civil Rights movement of the 1960’s, or the Women’s Suffrage movement has taught us nothing about persecution. The lesson we should have taken from these instances is that we are all equal whether someone is black, white, male, female, but apparently not if you’re gay, lesbian or transsexual. This makes me think that this country needs to persecute a certain group of people in order to get by, why I wouldn’t know. That is why it warmed my heart when President Barack Obama openly supported marriage equality in an interview with ABC news’ Robin Roberts on May 9th,
“I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”
Former president Bill Clinton, the creator of the Defense of Marriage Act, a law that defines marriage between a man and a woman, now supports marriage equality. Clinton campaigned in 2011 for marriage equality in New York when the state passed the Marriage Equality Act, an act that legalized same-sex marriage in New York, becoming 1 of 9 states to recognize same-sex marriages. If the man responsible for DOMA can change his mind why can’t the country? This is something I will never understand. I understand that the American people have their right to their religious views and oppose this because that’s what they believe in but, the country does believe in something called separation of church and state. The government is not trying to force religious groups to accept it (although it would be nice), but to simply to tolerate it.
The lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community should be allowed the 1,338 federal rights in their marriages. They should not have to fight as hard as the African American community had to in the 1960’s for voting rights or as hard as women for most of the 20th century. However, history does tend to repeat itself showing signs that DOMA will be ruled unconstitutional as most acts have been against specific groups of people like the “separate but equal” ruling.
It is going to be embarrassing to say I lived in a time where homosexual discrimination was rampant. I can see in future history classes, as they look at different civil rights movements, students questioning how on Earth did we tolerate the discrimination of homosexuals for so long? They would react the exact same way history students do when they learn of racial intolerance or sexual discrimination. I look forward to coming back to Washington in June to stand with the LGBT community to hear that DOMA and Proposition 8 in California is unconstitutional and that the federal government will grant marriage equality just like I hope you do to.

